New beginnings … new inspiration

You may remember last year’s knitting year’s resolutions … well … here you go people – here’s my knit list for 2013! And yes. I can hear you laughing so hard you are snorting, falling off your chairs, and blowing coffee (or whatever you are drinking) out your nose. BUT A GIRL HAS GOT TO DREAM OK?!?!

Be warned this list is BIG. And for good reason. I like a challenge, and I figure that considering I have whipped up three projects already this year (yes, this year) I’m thinking that maybe I have half a chance. (actually, if I am honest, it’s because I just couldn’t whittle the list down any further, so … whatever).

Some projects are big & blankety, some are complicated cardigans, some are simple (potentially boring) sweaters, some are little things, practical things, impractical things and there is a hat – which I will probably never wear.

It's going to be a BIG year of knitting ...

It’s going to be a BIG year of knitting … (all pattern references are at the bottom of the post)

So, there’s a lot right? And it doesn’t include what is currently on my needles … oops, just add 3.

But in making my knit list, I’ve realised a few things: 

I like yellow very much (which is good);
I like stripes very much (which is good);
and I am possibly suffering from significant self-delusion (which is bad).

I prefer to knit than crochet, which is the complete opposite to last year (which is interesting …);
I love fine yarn (which is great isn’t it, if you are trying to push through a “million” projects in 12 months);
and that this, knitting stuff, thinking about knitting stuff, and planning to knit more, makes me happy (which is a freaking brilliant revelation!).

And can I tell you, this year is all about being happy … I can’t wait to share these finished projects with you (happy), I can’t wait to share with you other projects, events and happenings at Threads & More (happier), and I can’t wait to share a year of happiness through craftiness (happiest).

Happy New Year everyone, may it be exactly that!

Column 1: Cuckoo Clock Pillow by Betsy Farquhar, Doily Bunting by A la Sascha,  Color Affection by Veera Valimaki, Ida’s Kitchen by Kirsten Kapur, Scallops of the Sea by Katie Canavan, Carnaby Street by Lori Versaci

Column 2: Miffy & her Balloon by knitterbees, Caramel by achtungkinder, Abby’s Blanket by Kirsten Kapur, Banana slug by GraceIvy 

Column 3: Big Herringbone Cowl by Purl Soho, Boxy by Joji Locatelli, Hexagons. Grey. by Rosa Pacholleck, Slide by Cookie A , Grey Skies in February by sixandahalfst 

Column 4: Paper Dolls by Kate Davies, Cyklon by Alison Brookbanks, Kenzo by Olga Buraya-Kefelian, Thorn by Bristol Ivy, Emma Boatneck Jumper by MillaMia.

Comments
4 Responses to “New beginnings … new inspiration”
  1. Very inspiring indeed! Some familiar favourites there and some new to me patterns too. A great selection. Here’s to happy knitting. 🙂

  2. Moira says:

    Interesting list – some I’ve already completed. I’ll wait to see how you go with Cyklon – it’s a work in progress. I like the Milla Mia design you’re currently working on. Currently doing Redy and another great pattern Bread with Butter and Jam for my DH. I’ll knit along Thorn with you – just contemplating yarn at this stage. Happy Knitting 2013.

    • applefluff says:

      Hi Moira … I like that you think my list is interesting .. the Cyklon is a ‘take 2’ – I’m also keen to see how I go second time around ;0). I look forward to having your company for Thorn, I’ll be organising the KAL some time in early February so everyone has time to gather their supplies.

Let us know what you think ...